Banning Kids: Yay or Nay?

So you’ve probably heard: People hate your kids. Your kid is loud. S/He’s annoying. S/He smells funny.

And I completely agree. Not because I hate loud, annoying, smelly kids all the time–I have one of the loudest myself, after all. I just hate them when I can’t hear my husband over their shrieking, when we finally get a chance to eat at a nice restaurant, or when I am trying to enjoy my Champagne while I fly first class (because this happens all the time, you know).

So I’m not surprised to hear that this restaurant banned children under the age of 6. Just like I wasn’t surprised to hear that airlines were banning children from their more expensive flights. As long as we are talking about banning children from places they shouldn’t be anyway, if their parents had a smidgen of sense, I say go for it.

There are plenty of family-friendly restaurants. Go there with your kids. There are plenty of flights that aren’t first class. That’s how your kids should fly. And on the subject of airplanes–as a parent, I would greatly appreciate rounding up all the families with children and putting them in one section of the airplane. It’s much easier for other children to entertain Miss L than for me to do it myself!

Bottom line: Children belong in kid-friendly places, and misbehaving children belong at home, being disciplined.

I’m sure it’s too early to assume I have many readers, but I would love to know what everyone thinks about this! Discuss in the comments!

This entry was posted in Children in the News, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Banning Kids: Yay or Nay?

  1. Mary says:

    This was hilarious! I completely agree that children should behave in public places or be asked to leave.

Leave a Reply

