Sunday Dinner Table: Chili and Cobbler

This is going to be a regular Monday post. I think it’s important for families to carve out time to spend with each other. One of my favorite (albeit new) traditions is Sunday with my inlaws. Every Sunday I go to the local farmer’s markets with my Mother-in-law and Sister-in-law. We use what we buy for Sunday dinner. Desert is generally my domain, because I love baking–particularly pies!

Last night we had chili made with yummy summer veggies, cornbread (made by moi), and two cobblers: blackberry and blueberry (also made by me).

MIL's Chili

I can’t post the recipe for the chili, unfortunately, because I wasn’t paying attention when MIL started throwing things into the pot–and she didn’t follow a recipe herself. <sigh> I guess this is one awesome chili that won’t be had again!

For the cobblers, I followed a Betty Crocker recipe. I personally prefer BHG or Southern Living recipes, but this one was super easy and I was short on time. I changed the recipe a little, for the better, I think.

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups blackberries
1 cup sugar
1 cup all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1/2 cup butter, melted
1 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
1 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Step 1: Stir together blackberries and sugar. Let stand about 20 minutes or until fruit syrup forms. Preheat oven to 375.

Step 2: Stir together flour, baking powder, milk, nutmeg, cinnamon, and salt. Stir in melted butter until blended. Spread in ungreased 8″ square pan. Spoon blackberry mixture on top.

Step 3: Bake 45 to 55 minutes until dough rises and is golden brown.

Step 1: You can see here the syrup starting to form.Grating the nutmeg.

Grating the nutmeg.

Stirring the nutmeg into the flour mixture.

Ready to go in the oven!

The recipe I was following specifically said NOT to use blueberries. It just so happened that we had 20 lbs of blueberries just waiting to be used. Challenge accepted!

My guess is that the skin of the blueberries prevents the sugar syrup from forming–blackberries don’t have this skin. So after I mixed the blueberries and sugar together, I smashed some of the blueberries to get enough juice for the syrup to form. It worked like a charm. In fact, I think the blueberry cobbler was even better than the blackberry cobbler.

Blueberries and sugar

Into the oven!

Blueberry cobbler!

Blackberry cobbler!

Best part: We had enough desert to last for a week!

This entry was posted in Sunday Dinner, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sunday Dinner Table: Chili and Cobbler

  1. Lauren says:

    This looks delicious! What changes did you make to the recipes?

    • What to Keep says:

      Lauren, I just added the nutmeg and cinnamon. I think those two ingredients belong in just about any desert!

Leave a Reply

