Vegetable Wars

Miss L is what you might call a picky eater. She loves all kinds of fruit, although she is deeply suspicious of blueberries and won’t let them anywhere near her mouth. She’s a big fan of carbs. She loves eggs, either scrambled or hard boiled, and she tolerates chicken, steak, turkey. She won’t eat grilled cheese sandwiches or spaghetti or a lot of other “kid” food. And she absolutely will not eat any kind of vegetable. No broccoli. No green beans. No sweet potatoes. No carrots.

I’ve tried sneaking vegetables into other dishes, but that doesn’t work. She doesn’t eat things you could sneak a vegetable into.

I would probably lose more sleep over this if it weren’t for my secret weapon.

Miss L was not always this way. When she was very little, I used to make all of her baby food. I pureed avocado, carrots, squash, pears, apples, bananas. You name it, I pureed it–with one notable exception: Green beans. I never quite got it right, and Miss L refused to eat it. Eventually, I ended up buying a few jars of Earth’s Best Organic Spring Vegetables and Pasta, just to make sure she was getting some green stuff in her. Funny thing, she loved it!

Earth's Best Spring Vegetables and Pasta

I’ve been giving it to her ever since. Sure, I put other veggies on her plate. I’ve been doing that for a year now, with no results. But this is a sure thing. Sometimes she likes to mix her scrambled eggs or chicken in a bowl with the veggies. Sometimes she likes to dip apple slices in the veggies and eat it like chips with dip. It’s kind of gross, but hey, she’s getting her vitamins, right?

The pediatrician said to get vegetables into her any way I could, and this beats the high salt content of some veggie juices, IMO. Until she comes to her senses, the only vegetables she gets comes in this jar. And I’m ok with that.

You pick your battles. Forcing vegetables down her throat, which will only end in tears and vomiting, just so she tries something? That’s not the hill I want to die on.

This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

