Censorship: Whose Responsibility Is It, Anyway?

Last night 60 Minutes replayed Anderson Cooper’s interview with Eminem from 2010. The interview is fascinating, so if you haven’t watched it yet, definitely check it out! It’s all over YouTube, so it’s easy to find.

At one point Cooper asks Eminem if he feels responsible to all the children that listen to his music. Here’s his response:

Fine and good. But my question is, why did Cooper even ask such a ridiculous question? Why does this ever come up at all? Of course parents should make the decision regarding what their children see and hear, to the greatest extent possible, slowly releasing the reins as the children grow in age and maturity.

But seriously. Is Cooper actually suggesting that Eminem tailor his music to children? Isn’t that what Sesame Street is for? Good lord. I hate most children’s programming. It’s boring at best, insipid at worst. I already know my ABC’s and 123’s, so what’s in it for me?

What, exactly, is wrong with having adult programming and music? Can’t you just say no to your kid? Confession: I don’t even like Eminem; his music is misogynistic. But I do like Gossip Girl, and lord knows that wouldn’t be any fun without the sex. I also like The Closer (even though I often find myself shouting, “But what about the Fourth Amendment?!”), but I would never let Miss L watch that either.

So learn to say no to your kid and stop arguing that children are a reason for censorship. No one wants to live in a sanitized world. Where’s the fun in that?

This entry was posted in Children in the News, Parenting Theories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Censorship: Whose Responsibility Is It, Anyway?

  1. Lauren says:

    LOL! You hit the nail on the head. There is nothing wrong with adult movies, tv, and music if you’re an adult.

  2. I want to watch this! Sounds like an interesting interview. Book marked it! Will be coming back later when I have a few more minutes

  3. oooh, i didn’t catch this, so thanks for posting. i fully agree with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

