5 Children’s Books It Won’t Kill You To Read

Miss L loves her nighttime book session. I love it too. I love the snuggles, the peace, and encouraging her inner smart girl. But the books themselves? Meh.

Let’s face it, most children’s books are boring. If I read The Very Hungry Caterpillar one more time, I swear I will go apeshit.

Luckily, some authors have the good sense to realize that reading children’s books shouldn’t rival the pain of natural childbirth and have published books that are actually fun for adults too. Here are five of my favorites:

1. A Book of Sleep by Il Sung Na. Lovely pictures, mercifully short. What’s not to like?

2. Wynken, Blynken, and Nod by Eugene W. Field. This classic always makes me feel like everything is right with the world. There are many variations on illustrations, but I like this one with the bunnies. Why? I just like bunnies.

3. One Fish Two Fish by Dr. Seuss. Yeah, I know, this one is looong. But have you ever noticed how it doesn’t follow a story line? This is the absolute best! It means you can skip pages without dear child ever being the wiser. Come up with a system, and you won’t find yourself reading the same passages night after night. But, hey, even if you do–you know what, it’s a pretty cute book.

4. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. Beautifully written. This one is a favorite for adults who don’t want their children to grow up to be jerks. A nice way to teach love and generosity without being preachy.

5. Knuffle Bunny by Mo Willems. Without a doubt, my favorite–and Miss L’s favorite, too. She has it memorized already (I’m telling you, my kid’s a genius! A genius, I say!). The pictures are hilarious.

So that’s my list of books that don’t make me drag my feet to story time. What about you? Leave your favs in the comments!

This entry was posted in Books and Toys and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5 Children’s Books It Won’t Kill You To Read

  1. Ces says:

    we do have some Dr Seuss books and I love reading them to my daughter. Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

